Instinct is a personal AI agent you text or call, with no app to install, that handles everyday admin such as bookings, shopping and cancelling subscriptions. It comes from a 14-person US startup and suits busy people happy to hand over their inbox. As of 18 October 2026 it is free (£0) but invite-only. Its sign-up form accepts UK numbers, yet you still need an invite or a waitlist place, and there are no UK-specific terms. Know this first: it trains on your data unless you opt out.
Key facts
- What it is: A personal AI agent you text (iMessage, SMS or WhatsApp) or call, which acts for you online and by phone
- Made by: Instinct (Spear Street Technology, Inc.), a US company; founder Noah Shinn
- Price: Free during invite-only early access; no paid plans published, as of 18 October 2026
- Free plan or trial: Yes, it is all free for now; the terms say fees may come later, in US dollars
- Runs on: Instinct's cloud (location not stated), reached from your phone's messaging apps
- What you need: An invite or waitlist place, a mobile number from one of 83 accepted countries and territories, and to be 18 or over
- Open source: No
- Available in the UK: Partly. Sign-up accepts +44 numbers, but access is invite-only and there are no UK terms
- Best for: Busy adults who want bookings, errands and inbox chores done by text
- Official site: instinct.com

On this page
- What is Instinct AI?
- Is Instinct available in the UK?
- What's new in Instinct in October 2026?
- How much does Instinct cost in the UK?
- What do you need to use Instinct?
- How do you get access to Instinct?
- How do you use Instinct? First things to try
- Best Instinct video tutorials
- Official Instinct links
- Is Instinct safe? Privacy, security and UK GDPR
- Instinct vs Meta Muse, ChatGPT Dots and other agents
- Who should use Instinct?
- Frequently asked questions
What is Instinct AI?
Instinct is an AI agent, not a chatbot: you give it a job and it works through the steps. You message it over iMessage, WhatsApp or ordinary texts, or ring it. Instinct says it uses a phone and a computer as a person does, so it can browse, sign in, fill in forms and make calls.
What it is built to do:
- Travel and tables: trains, flights, hotels and restaurants. Shinn says over half its transactions are travel (TechCrunch, 29 September).
- Shopping and admin: groceries, flowers, cancelling subscriptions, chasing refunds.
- Phone calls: Concierge rings places with no online booking (announced 16 September and rolling out to some users, per Fox News).
- Other people: Trusted People lets your agent plan with friends' agents, and group chats arrived on 5 October.
It remembers your preferences, messages you first and has its own email address (TechCrunch, 10 October). The limits: no app on the homepage, no choice of AI model, and reviewers report slips, such as paying the wrong Oxford road charge. See AI agent vs chatbot for the difference.
Is Instinct available in the UK?
Partly. As of 18 October 2026:
- UK numbers are accepted. The sign-in page accepts numbers from 83 countries and territories, including the UK (+44), and opens on the UK when loaded from a UK connection.
- Access is invite-only. You need a member's invite link or a waitlist place.
- There are no UK terms. The service is "operated by us in the United States", and disputes go to US arbitration under California law.
- It is used in the UK. A Business Insider editor in Britain used it to book London commuter tickets (27 September).
That beats several rivals for UK access: Meta Muse is US and Canada only, ChatGPT Dots aren't on Pro in the UK, and Gemini Spark excludes the UK.
What's new in Instinct in October 2026?
- 9 October: A user told The Wall Street Journal (via Mint) that card purchases trigger an approval link, yet her Instinct bought a bikini with store credit she never approved.
- 6 October: Sierra and Meta announced the Personal Agent Protocol, an open standard for how agents deal with businesses. Sierra listed Instinct as an industry partner, saying it was "excited that Instinct will also be joining the effort". It isn't called a founding partner.
- 6 October: Business Insider reported users quitting Instinct, one after a login check came from an IP address labelled as Iran.
- 5 October: Group chats arrived for early access users, even for friends without an account.
On 28 September Instinct raised a $1bn Series C at a $10bn valuation from Sequoia, Benchmark and Coatue, 33 days after a $250m round at $2.5bn (Tech Funding News). TechCrunch puts staff at 14.
How much does Instinct cost in the UK?
As of 18 October 2026 Instinct is free, with no price page.
| Plan | US price | UK price | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Invite-only early access | $0 | £0 | The full agent, subject to capacity |
| Paid plans | None published | None published | The terms say fees may come, in US dollars plus taxes, non-refundable |
With no pound price there is no VAT question yet. Watch for:
- Purchases. You are the buyer of everything it orders, under each shop's refund rules.
- Texts. Message and data rates may apply. If your Instinct number is a US one, a UK plan could charge international rates, so WhatsApp or iMessage over data is safer.
Compare other agents in what AI agents cost in the UK.
What do you need to use Instinct?
- An invite or a waitlist place.
- A mobile number from an accepted country, including the UK.
- To be 18 or over.
- A messaging app: iMessage, SMS or WhatsApp.
- Optional: a Google account and a payment card.
- No technical skills. For a do-it-yourself agent, see OpenClaw.
How do you get access to Instinct?
These steps, from Instinct's sign-in page and SMS terms, only get you to the door.


- Open instinct.com and tap "Text Instinct". Success is a "Sign in to Instinct" page asking for your number.
- Enter your mobile number. From the UK, the country box should already show +44.
- Enter the six-digit code. It comes by SMS, with WhatsApp offered instead. Success is a code box saying where it was sent.
- If Instinct is full, you join the waitlist. The SMS terms promise one welcome text from your assigned Instinct number when a spot opens. No wait time is published.
- Or use a member's invite link. Members get a set number; Fortune reported five each on 30 September. Don't buy one from resellers; there is no official paid route.
- Before connecting anything, opt out of AI training at app.instinct.com/settings.
How do you use Instinct? First things to try
Start where a mistake costs nothing. These work in most personal AI assistants.
- Restaurant shortlist: "Find three quiet Italian places for four on Friday at 7pm. Show me before booking."
- Train times: "Find the cheapest off-peak return from Leeds to London next Saturday. Don't buy."
- Subscription audit: "List every subscription in my email with its monthly cost. Cancel nothing."
- A phone call: "Ring the dentist and ask to join their cancellation list."
- Group plan: "In this chat, work out who brings what to Sunday lunch."
Best Instinct video tutorials
Video: Eliot Prince on YouTube.
Eliot Prince sets Instinct up live, connects email and calendar, books a recycling centre slot and shows the privacy settings to change first.
| Video | Channel | Length | Uploaded | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| INSTINCT AI Clearly Explained (set up your AI personal assistant) | Eliot Prince | 20:43 | 5 Oct 2026 | Beginner setup and privacy settings |
| Instinct: A Free AI Assistant That Actually Gets Things Done | Kyle Balmer, AI with Kyle | 23:47 | 21 Sept 2026 | Starting small with limited access |
| Instinct AI Agent: What It's Actually Like To Use! | Daniel Hull | 13:43 | 18 Sept 2026 | An honest second-week review |
| The $10B AI Assistant Challenging Meta's Muse, Grok's Bots, and OpenAI's Dots | Invest Like The Best | 1:25:27 | 28 Sept 2026 | The founder on trust and payments |
I found no official Instinct YouTube channel. Watch Eliot Prince first, then Daniel Hull for the frustrations.
Official Instinct links
| Link | What it's for |
|---|---|
| instinct.com | Homepage and the Text Instinct button |
| Sign in or join the waitlist | Phone-number sign-up |
| Settings | AI training opt-out (sign-in needed) |
| Workspace | Delete data it has indexed (sign-in needed) |
| Privacy policy | What it collects and how it trains |
| Terms of service | Liability, purchases and arbitration |
Is Instinct safe? Privacy, security and UK GDPR
I would use Instinct for low-stakes errands only, with training off.

What it can reach. The privacy policy covers Google Workspace (Gmail, Calendar, Drive and more), logins you hand over, payment details, location and audio if you allow them, and usage data such as keystrokes and cursor positions.
Training. On by default. Opting out works from then on only, trained models keep what they learned, and safety-flagged material can still be used. Google Workspace data and Instinct's Vault feature are excluded.
Where data goes. The policy names no storage country, no AI model providers and no retention periods. Disconnecting an account doesn't delete indexed data; do that at app.instinct.com/workspace.
Payments. You are the buyer, and the terms say safeguards may not prevent errors. One user told the WSJ that card purchases need approval through a link, but store credit slipped past it. Liability is capped at $100 (about £75) or what you paid in the last six months, whichever is greater.
Known incidents:
- 21 to 22 August: an investor said it emailed for her without asking, a user got an email summary hours after disconnecting Google, and a tester phished it (TechCrunch).
- Late September: a user's agent described a financial document with someone else's details; Shinn called it a hallucination, not a data leak (Business Insider, 24 September).
- Late September to October: the Iran login prompt (Business Insider, 24 September) and the store-credit purchase (WSJ via Mint, 9 October).
The UK GDPR angle. The policy never mentions the UK, UK GDPR or the EEA and names no UK representative. UK GDPR can still apply to an overseas firm serving people here, so send requests to privacy@instinct.com. The ICO's call for evidence on agentic AI runs until 20 November 2026, and our UK GDPR guide to AI agents explains your duties.
Safest settings: training off, one account at a time, location and audio off, a low-limit card if any, and a weekly look at what it did.
Instinct vs Meta Muse, ChatGPT Dots and other agents
As of 18 October 2026. Pound figures are rough conversions at $1 = £0.75.
| Agent | How you reach it | Price | UK availability | Privacy stance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instinct | Text, WhatsApp or call | Free, invite-only | UK numbers accepted; invite or waitlist | Trains on data unless you opt out |
| Meta Muse | App, web, WhatsApp | Free tier; paid from $20 a month (about £15) | No, US and Canada only | Trains on chats unless you opt out |
| ChatGPT Dots | ChatGPT | Business Premium seat, £75 a month billed yearly, two-seat minimum | Business Premium or Enterprise, not Pro | Custom rules before it acts |
| Grok Bot | Desktop and mobile apps | $30, $100 or $200 a month (about £23, £75 or £150) | Not stated | Training opt-out; review step for sensitive actions |
| OpenClaw | Chat apps you choose | Free software; you pay for any AI model | Yes | Runs on your own computer |
For UK individuals, Instinct is the only free hosted agent here that accepts UK sign-ups, if you can get in. Pick ChatGPT Dots if your firm pays for ChatGPT Business Premium or Enterprise, and OpenClaw if you want your data on your own hardware.
Who should use Instinct?
Instinct suits busy adults who want bookings, chasing and cancelling done for them, are happy to grant Gmail access, and don't mind beta wobbles.
Skip it if you handle client, patient or legal data, want UK terms and a UK contact, or won't give a startup your logins. For private work, start with running AI agents on your Mac.
Frequently asked questions
Is Instinct AI available in the UK?
Partly. As of 18 October 2026, Instinct AI's sign-up page accepts UK +44 numbers, but Instinct AI is invite-only, so you need a member's link or a waitlist place. There are no UK terms: Instinct says it is operated in the United States.
How do I get an Instinct invite or join the waitlist?
Tap "Text Instinct" on instinct.com, enter your mobile number, then the six-digit code Instinct sends by SMS or WhatsApp. If Instinct is full, you join the waitlist and get a text when a spot opens. Members can share invite links; there is no official way to buy one.
Is Instinct AI free?
Yes. As of 18 October 2026, Instinct AI is free during invite-only early access and has no published price. Its terms say some features may need payment later, in US dollars plus taxes. You still pay for anything Instinct AI buys for you.
Is Instinct AI safe?
Instinct AI is safe enough for low-risk errands if set up carefully. It trains on your data by default, users have reported an unapproved email and purchase, and it doesn't say where data is stored. Turn off Instinct AI's training first and connect one account at a time.
Does Instinct work on WhatsApp and iMessage?
Yes. Reviewers use Instinct through iMessage and WhatsApp, TechCrunch also reports ordinary texts, and you can call Instinct. The sign-up code arrives by SMS or WhatsApp. Instinct's homepage offers no app to download, though its privacy policy mentions Mac and mobile apps.
Instinct vs Meta Muse: which is better for UK users?
Instinct wins for UK users by default, because Meta Muse is only available in the US and Canada while Instinct's sign-up accepts UK numbers. Instinct is free but invite-only, and both Instinct and Meta Muse train on your data unless you opt out.
Read next
- Meta Muse: what it does and why you can't get it in the UK
- ChatGPT Dots: OpenAI's always-on agent and the UK
- Personal AI assistants in the UK compared
- AI agents and UK GDPR
- OpenClaw: the open-source agent you can run yourself
Sources
- Instinct homepage - checked 18 October 2026
- Instinct sign-in page - checked 18 October 2026
- Instinct Privacy Policy - checked 18 October 2026
- Instinct Terms of Service - checked 18 October 2026
- Instinct SMS Terms - checked 18 October 2026
- Viral AI agent Instinct raises $1B Series C at a $10B valuation (TechCrunch) - checked 18 October 2026
- Instinct founder said more than 50% of transactions are travel-related (TechCrunch) - checked 18 October 2026
- Instinct brings its AI agent to group chats (TechCrunch) - checked 18 October 2026
- Instinct's powerful AI assistant is raising privacy and security concerns (TechCrunch) - checked 18 October 2026
- AI agents that can live in your text messages (TechCrunch) - checked 18 October 2026
- Instinct jumps to $10B valuation in 33 days (Tech Funding News) - checked 18 October 2026
- Instinct goes from $100M to $2.5B in weeks (Tech Funding News) - checked 18 October 2026
- Meet Noah Shinn (Fortune) - checked 18 October 2026
- Early users are deleting personal AI agents (Business Insider) - checked 18 October 2026
- Personal AI agents are great, until they share your bank statement (Mint, from The Wall Street Journal) - checked 18 October 2026
- AI agents can now make phone calls for you (Fox News) - checked 18 October 2026
- Introducing Personal Agent Protocol (Sierra) - checked 18 October 2026
- Agentic AI call for evidence (ICO) - checked 18 October 2026
- Grok Bot - checked 18 October 2026
- Instinct AI is For Real. What You Need to Know. (Greg Isenberg, YouTube) - checked 18 October 2026



