ChatGPT vs Claude vs Gemini vs Copilot (UK, 2026)

Bar chart of UK monthly prices for AI subscriptions on 25 October 2026: Google AI Plus £4.49, ChatGPT Go £7, Microsoft 365 Personal £8.49, Claude Pro £18, Google AI Pro and Microsoft 365 Premium £18.99, ChatGPT Plus and Perplexity Pro £20, Grok Premium about £22.50

Pay for Claude Pro (£18 a month including VAT) if you mainly write, research or code; ChatGPT Plus (£20) if you want the broadest all-rounder; Google AI Pro (£18.99) if your life is in Gmail and Drive; and Microsoft 365 Premium (£18.99) if it is in Word, Excel and Outlook. Those are the UK prices each company showed UK visitors on 25 October 2026. If £18-£20 is too much, Google AI Plus at £4.49 and ChatGPT Go at £7 are the cheapest paid tiers, and all four have a free plan.

Key facts

  • Main paid tiers (UK, 25 October 2026): Claude Pro £18, Google AI Pro £18.99, Microsoft 365 Premium £18.99, ChatGPT Plus £20 a month.
  • Cheapest paid tiers: Google AI Plus £4.49, ChatGPT Go £7, Microsoft 365 Personal £8.49 a month.
  • VAT: only Anthropic says its UK prices include 20% VAT. Google, Microsoft and OpenAI do not say on their consumer pricing pages.
  • Training on your chats: on by default or opt-out on the personal plans of ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and the Copilot app. Business plans do not train on your data by default.
  • UK data: none of the four offers UK data storage on personal plans. Microsoft expects UK processing for Microsoft 365 Copilot by the end of 2026.

On this page

The verdict: which one to pay for

The four main tiers cost within £2 of each other, so pick by where your work already lives. My verdict by type of user, as of 25 October 2026:

  • Writers, researchers and anyone handling long documents: Claude Pro, £18. It adds Anthropic's Opus model, Research, Claude Code and Cowork, its agent for office tasks.
  • Everyone who wants one tool for everything: ChatGPT Plus, £20. It has the widest set of features: projects, scheduled tasks, custom GPTs, ChatGPT Work and the Codex coding agent.
  • Gmail, Drive and Android users: Google AI Pro, £18.99. It puts Gemini inside Gmail and Docs and comes with 5 TB of storage you can share with five others.
  • Word, Excel, Outlook and family households: Microsoft 365 Premium, £18.99. You get the Office apps with Copilot built in, so it replaces an Office subscription you may already pay for.
  • On a tight budget: Google AI Plus, £4.49, or ChatGPT Go, £7. OpenAI says Go "may include ads".
  • Small businesses: stay with your email provider; see business plans.

UK prices compared: free, cheap and main tiers

All four companies now show UK visitors prices in pounds. I checked each pricing page from a UK connection on 25 October 2026. Only Anthropic states that its prices include 20% VAT.

Bar chart of UK monthly prices for AI subscriptions on 25 October 2026: Google AI Plus £4.49, ChatGPT Go £7, Microsoft 365 Personal £8.49, Claude Pro £18, Google AI Pro and Microsoft 365 Premium £18.99, ChatGPT Plus and Perplexity Pro £20, Grok Premium about £22.50
UK monthly prices from each company's UK pricing page or the UK App Store, checked 25 October 2026. Grok is priced in US dollars, converted at x0.75, before VAT.
ChatGPT (OpenAI)Claude (Anthropic)Gemini (Google)Copilot (Microsoft)
Free planYesYesYesYes, with a free Microsoft account
Cheapest paid tierGo, £7 a monthPro, £18 a monthGoogle AI Plus, £4.49 a monthMicrosoft 365 Personal, £8.49 a month or £84.99 a year
Main tierPlus, £20 a monthPro, £18 a month, or £180 a year (£15 a month)Google AI Pro, £18.99 a monthMicrosoft 365 Premium, £18.99 a month or £189.99 a year
Top personal tierPro, from £89 a monthMax, from £90 a monthGoogle AI Ultra, from £79.99 a monthPremium is the top home plan
BilledMonthly only on personal plansMonthly or yearly for Pro; Max monthly onlyMonthly (no yearly price shown)Monthly or yearly
VAT included?Not stated on the pageYes, "Prices include 20% VAT"Not stated on the pageNot stated on the page
Business planBusiness, £18 a seat (£15 yearly)Team, £22.50 a seat (£18 yearly), VAT includedWorkspace Business Standard, £11.80 a user before VATCopilot Business add-on, £19.32 a user (£13.80 yearly, offer) before VAT

On VAT, OpenAI's page is silent, but when I checked for my ChatGPT Dots guide on 17 October, ChatGPT Pro was £89 a month including £14.83 VAT, but OpenAI does not state whether its UK prices include VAT. For OpenAI, Google and Microsoft, check the checkout total. Every price here is also in my UK AI price tracker, which I update monthly.

The top tiers are for heavy users: Claude Max 20x is £180 and Google AI Ultra 20x £189.99. My Claude pricing UK guide breaks down every Claude plan. Most people do not need them.

What the free plans include

All four have a usable free plan, and for light use you may not need to pay at all. The free tiers differ most in which model you get and how much you can use it.

Free planWhat you getMain limit
ChatGPT FreeGPT-6 Luna and GPT-5 Thinking Mini, plus limited CodexLower usage than paid plans; chats can train OpenAI's models unless you opt out
Claude FreeSonnet and Haiku models for chatNo Opus, no Claude Code and no Cowork
Gemini (no subscription)A Flash-Lite model, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas, Gems, image creation, 15 GB storageGoogle gives no numbers, only that paid plans get "higher usage"
Microsoft Copilot (free account)Copilot chat, with limited image creationCopilot inside Word, Excel and Outlook needs a Microsoft 365 plan

Start free. Pay when you hit the limit every week.

What each one is best at

Each paid tier is built around a different strength, going by what each pricing page says it includes on 25 October 2026.

AssistantBest atWhat the main tier addsWeak spot
ChatGPT PlusAll-round use, voice, images and agentsGPT-6 in chat at Medium and High thinking, GPT-6.1 Sol and limited GPT-6 Astra in ChatGPT Work and Codex, projects, scheduled tasks and custom GPTsDots, OpenAI's always-on agent, is not on Plus; it comes with Pro, from £89
Claude ProWriting, long documents, research and codeOpus, Research, Claude Code, Claude in Chrome and Cowork for scheduled office tasksUsage refills every five hours, with a weekly cap on top (see Claude usage limits explained)
Google AI ProGmail, Docs and Drive users; familiesGemini 4 Argon, Gemini in Gmail and Docs, a 1 million token context window, 5 TB storage, Antigravity and Jules for code, YouTube Premium LiteBest value only if you use Google's apps
Microsoft 365 PremiumWord, Excel, PowerPoint and OutlookCopilot in the Office desktop apps, extensive chat and image use, and agents for research and analysisLess useful if you do not use Office

Count what else is bundled. Google AI Pro includes storage and YouTube Premium Lite, and Microsoft 365 Premium includes the Office apps, so either can replace a subscription you already pay for.

Do they train on your chats? How to opt out

Yes, on personal plans, unless you switch it off. OpenAI's pricing page marks training on Free, Go, Plus and Pro as "Opt-out available". Anthropic's marks Free, Pro and Max as "Opt-out". Google trains on Gemini chats while "Keep activity" is on. Microsoft says it uses Copilot app conversations for AI training unless you opt out or fall into an excluded group, and the UK is not on its list of excluded countries.

AssistantPersonal plans by defaultHow to switch it offBusiness plans
ChatGPTChats can be used for trainingSettings, then Data controls, then turn off "Improve the model for everyone"; or use privacy.openai.com and choose "Do not train on my content"Business, Enterprise, Edu and API data not used by default
ClaudeUsed if Model Improvement is on; Anthropic lists it as opt-outSettings, then Privacy (claude.ai/settings/data-privacy-controls), then turn off Model Improvement; incognito chats are never usedTeam and Enterprise: no training on your content by default
GeminiUsed, and a sample read by human reviewers, while "Keep activity" is onTurn off "Keep activity" at myactivity.google.com/product/gemini, or use a temporary chatWorkspace: no training without your permission
Copilot appUsed for training unless you are excluded or opt outProfile, then Privacy, then turn off "Training on conversation activity" and "Training on voice conversations"Microsoft 365 Copilot: prompts and responses not used to train foundation models

Google keeps chats for 72 hours even with "Keep activity" off, and chats picked for human review for up to three years. When I checked my own account for is ChatGPT private?, "Keep activity" had been on since my first day. Anthropic keeps data for up to five years with Model Improvement on, against 30 days off. And Copilot inside Word, Excel and Outlook on Microsoft 365 home plans is separate from the app: Microsoft says prompts and file contents there "aren't used to train foundation models".

Where your data is processed

On personal plans, assume your chats leave the UK. None of the four offers UK data storage to individuals.

  • ChatGPT: OpenAI OpCo, LLC in the US is the data controller for UK users, as my personal AI assistant guide records. OpenAI offers data residency, with the UK among the regions, only to new Enterprise and Edu customers. Business is not on the list.
  • Claude: Anthropic Ireland is the controller for UK users, and data is processed in the US. Anthropic's regional compliance page offers European storage only through AWS Bedrock or Google Cloud Vertex, not on Claude's own plans.
  • Gemini: Google's Gemini privacy notice names Google Ireland as the provider in the European Economic Area and Switzerland, and Google LLC elsewhere. It does not say where chats are processed. Workspace Business Plus lists "Enterprise data regions".
  • Copilot: Microsoft keeps EU data in its EU Data Boundary, but says other customers' data may be processed in the US, the EU or other regions. In an editor's note of 3 April 2026, it said local processing of Microsoft 365 Copilot prompts in the UK is "expected to become available" by the end of 2026.

If you handle client, patient or legal data, use a business plan with a data processing agreement, or keep the work on your own machine. My guides to AI agents and UK GDPR and private AI on your own computer cover both routes.

Business plans compared

For a team, the business plans are the safer buy: none of them trains on your data by default, and they come with admin controls. Prices are per user a month, as shown to UK visitors on 25 October 2026.

PlanMonthly billingYearly billingVATSeats and notes
ChatGPT Business, Standard seat£18£15 a monthNot statedTeams of 2-200; Premium seat £90, or £75 yearly, adds 5x usage and Dots
Claude Team, Standard seat£22.50£18 a monthIncluded2-150 seats; Premium seat £113, or £90 yearly
Google Workspace Business Standard£11.80 shownOne-year commitment saves 16%ExcludedGemini in Gmail, Docs and Sheets; intro price £5.90 for the first year, first 20 users, new customers
Microsoft 365 Copilot Business (add-on)£19.32£13.80 a month (offer, was £16.10)ExcludedAdded to a Microsoft 365 business plan; Business Standard with Copilot £21.72 monthly or £18.10 yearly

Google is the cheapest way to give a team an assistant, because Gemini comes inside Workspace. Business Starter at £5.90 has only "Limited" Gemini outside Gmail, so Standard is the realistic entry point. Microsoft's yearly Copilot price is an offer for 1 July to 31 December 2026, first year only.

ChatGPT Business and Claude Team suit teams that want a standalone assistant whichever email they use. With a two-seat minimum, the smallest teams cost £36 and £45 a month.

Which one for you

  • A UK student: Google AI Plus. Google gives eligible UK university students aged 18 or over a free year, if you redeem it by 31 December 2026; then it is £4.49 a month. You need to add a payment method.
  • A freelancer who writes for a living: Claude Pro, paid yearly at £180. Switch off Model Improvement first.
  • A household on Gmail and Android: Google AI Pro. Google says the plan includes family sharing with up to five others, along with 5 TB of storage.
  • A developer: Claude Pro for Claude Code. If you live in ChatGPT already, Plus includes Codex. My Codex vs Claude Code guide compares the two, and Claude Code vs Cursor helps if you are choosing between an agent and an AI editor.
  • A small business on Google: Workspace Business Standard. On Microsoft: Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot.
  • Someone who cannot send data to a US cloud: run a model on your own Mac.

How to pay less

  1. Pay on the web, not through the App Store. On the UK App Store on 25 October 2026, Claude Pro was £20 a month against £18 on Claude's website, and Max 5x was £119.99 against £90. ChatGPT was the exception: Plus was £19.99 in the App Store, 1p less than on the web. My ChatGPT prices in the UK guide lists every ChatGPT plan in pounds.
  2. Pay yearly if you are sure. Claude Pro yearly is £180, saving £36 on twelve monthly payments. Microsoft 365 Premium yearly is £189.99 against £227.88 paid monthly. OpenAI offers no yearly price on personal plans.
  3. Upgrade what you already pay for. Moving Google One or Microsoft 365 up a tier can cost less than a separate assistant.

For coding, automation and meeting tool prices, see the UK AI price tracker.

What about Grok and Perplexity?

Both sell in the UK, but neither is my pick for most people. Grok Premium, which includes Grok Bot, is $30 (about £22.50) a month plus VAT. Perplexity Pro is $17 a month billed yearly on its website, or £20 on the UK App Store, and suits research with sources.

Frequently asked questions

Which is best in the UK: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini or Copilot?

There is no single best. As of 25 October 2026, Claude Pro (£18 including VAT) is the pick for writing, research and code; ChatGPT Plus (£20) is the broadest all-rounder; Google AI Pro (£18.99) suits Gmail and Drive users; Microsoft 365 Premium (£18.99) suits Word, Excel and Outlook users.

How much is ChatGPT Plus in the UK?

ChatGPT Plus costs £20 a month in the UK, as shown on chatgpt.com/pricing to UK visitors on 25 October 2026. ChatGPT Go is £7 and Pro starts at £89. OpenAI offers no yearly price on personal plans, and on the UK App Store Plus was £19.99.

Do UK AI subscription prices include VAT?

Only Anthropic says so: Claude's UK pricing page states "Prices include 20% VAT". OpenAI, Google and Microsoft do not say on their consumer pricing pages, although a ChatGPT Pro checkout showed VAT included. Business prices from Google and Microsoft exclude VAT.

How do I stop ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Copilot training on my chats?

In ChatGPT, turn off "Improve the model for everyone" under Settings and Data controls. In Claude, turn off Model Improvement under Settings and Privacy. In Gemini, turn off "Keep activity" at myactivity.google.com/product/gemini. In the Copilot app, turn off "Training on conversation activity" under Privacy in your profile.

Where is my data stored if I use these in the UK?

Mostly outside the UK. OpenAI and Anthropic process UK users' chats in the US, and none of the four offers UK data storage on personal plans. OpenAI offers UK data residency to new Enterprise and Edu customers, and Microsoft expects UK processing for Microsoft 365 Copilot by the end of 2026.

Which is best for a small UK business?

Usually the one that matches your email. Google Workspace Business Standard includes Gemini at £11.80 a user a month before VAT. Microsoft 365 Copilot Business is £19.32 a user a month, or £13.80 paid yearly on an offer, before VAT. ChatGPT Business and Claude Team suit teams that want a standalone assistant.

Sources

About the author

Annie has spent twenty years in search, lead generation and ad tech, on the agency, client and publisher side, and has worked in growth for an AI agent platform. She writes aiagents.org.uk independently: no AI vendor pays for coverage. More about Annie · How guides are made · LinkedIn

Scroll to Top